Solar Cookies

I recently finished illustrating a children’s book I wrote called Solar Cookies.

page 8-9

page 8-9

It is about a kid that builds a solar oven

page 14-15

page 14-15

page 22-23

page 22-23

and starts his own solar cookie business to help his Mom.

page 26-27

page 26-27

I sent the book to a children’s book contest. Hopefully it’ll do well. I’m looking for a publisher for it if anyone has any leads.

And after talking for months and months about it I finally made my first solar oven. Thank you Rocio for all the cardboard and help (more like for letting me help you :p)

Solar Oven

Solar Oven

It takes about an hour to make a batch of cookies. I plan on starting a solar cookie business of my own. Unfortunately it is the rainy season in Mexico, so the weather often does not help. I’m going to keep experimenting though and figuring out what are the best recipes. I want to make some solar pizza too.

There is a ton of info about building solar ovens on the net. I found this design to suit my needs the best.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Solar Cookies”

  1. CARMEN & DAVID Says:

    THANKYOU FOR THIS INTERESTING BLOG SITE. MY HUSBAND AND I LOVE TO LEARN ABOUT MEXICO. WE HAVE BEEN TOGETHER SINCE 1978 THATS OVER 30 YEARS. WE ARE RETIRING SOON AND WE WOULD LOVE TO TRAVEL!!! ANY SUGGESTIONS. THANKS FOR THIS SOLAR COOKIE OVEN MAKING, I WILL TRY IT WITH MY SON, GRANDCHILDREN GODCHILDREN NEICES AND NEPHEWS. MUCHAS GRACIAS. I AM IN LOSA ANGELES, CALIFORNIA. THIS IS WHERE I WAS BORN BACK IN 1962. PROUD TO SAY FIRST GENERATION MEXICAN AMERICAN. BUT I LOVE MY CULTURE & HERITAGE. WHAT PART OF MEXICO IS YOUR FAVORITE?? GOOD LUCK WITH THAT BOOK. WHERE CAN I PURCHASE IT. WELL HAPPY HOLIDAYS AND GODS BLESSINGS. CARMEN & DAVID BAEZA.

    • duncantonatiuh Says:

      Hi! Thank you for your comments. This book is not available yet, but “Dear Primo, a letter to my cousin” is you can pre-order it on Amazon or click here
      There are so many wonderful places to visit in Mexico. What are you interested in? Colonial towns? Beaches? Pre-Columbian Ruins?
      Some of my favorite places are: Oaxaca, Guanajuato, Paztcuaro, Puerto Escondido, Xilitla, Taxco, San Miguel Allende, Guadalajara, Palenque, San Cristobal. The list could go on and on. I’ve done a lot of traveling this year you can see some of my pics of Mexico here I plan on posting an entry with these and other pictures to my blog soon.
      I hope this e-mail finds you all well, D

  2. Uninter Cuernavaca « Duncan Tonatiuh’s Blog Says:

    […] a presentation of the book and showed them also another picture book I wrote and illustrated called Solar Cookies. The college students there enjoyed the books and had excellent and challenging questions. One of […]

  3. http://velveteenrabbitbookshop.blogspot.com Says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.
    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own
    website now 😉

Leave a Reply

