Diego Rivera is out and about

Diego Rivera: His World and Ours

I have not posted a new entry to my blog in several months. I apologize for that. I have been quite busy and productive though. My second picture book Diego Rivera: His World and Ours was published by Abrams this last May.  You can buy it online from Abrams or from Amazon among other retailers.

The book has received some great reviews so far.

It received a Parent’s Choice Recommended Seal by the spring 2011 Parents’ Choice Book Awards.

The Latin Baby Book Club chose Diego Rivera:His World and Ours as their June book of the month. They did a Q & A with me too.

The Happy Nappy Bookseller gave the book a very generous review. “There are a few children’s biographies about Diego Rivera. Tonatiuh’s sophomore release is a great addition, with it’s own personal distinctions. “

It got a starred review from Kirkus. “A simple picture-book biography of Diego Rivera concentrates on his artistic career and encourages children to imagine themselves painting their own world… Both solid introduction and exhortation, this book will thrill budding artists.”

And Publisher’s Weekly gave it a great review “Suggestive of stained glass windows, Tonatiuh’s mixed-media collages combine ancient Mexican art motifs with blocky, stylized figures, to pay tribute to this versatile artist.”

I am heading to Dallas later today. I am thrilled to be a part of the 1st Annual BooksmART Festival in the Dallas Museum of Art where I will read Diego Rivera: His World and Ours and also Dear Primo, a letter to my cousin.

I will be visiting 3rd graders at the The School at Columbia University next Monday and I will be heading to New Orleans at the end of the month for the ALA conference. I have a busy and exciting month ahead.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Diego Rivera is out and about”

  1. Chachy Says:

    Saw you at DMA today. My kids are a bit too small, but can’t wait for them to read Dear Primos –as they love seeing their primos in Mexico. Also excited about getting Diego R. Keep up the great work, and come to Dallas more often! Saludos, Chachy

    • duncantonatiuh Says:

      Gracias! I had a great time at the museum and in Dallas. I’m sure the little ones will grow into them soon. Saludos! d

  2. Best Books for Children in 2012 | Books Literature For Writing Says:

    [...] Rivera: His World and Ours by Duncan Tenatiuh. A charming introduction of artist Diego Rivera to young readers, including a discussions of styles [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

